Details about the Honorable Minister:

Muhammad Abdul Mannan, MP was born in Village- Dungria, Upa-Zilla-Dakhin Sunamgonj, District-Sunamgonj, Bangladesh, in 1946. He received his early education in his village school and obtained”O’-l.evel from Pakistan Air Force school, in Sargodha, Pakistan in 1962. After obtaining graduationfrom Dhaka University he joined the former Civil Service of Pakistan (CSP) cadre in 1974 and servedin the Government of Bangladesh in various positions, including as Deputy Commissioner ofKishorgonj, Mymensing and Chittagong Districts. He worked as Joint Secretary (Political) in Ministry ofHome Affairs, Director General in the Prime Minister’s office and Director General of NGO AffairsBureau. He also served in the Bangladesh Permanent Mission in Geneva as Economic Minister. Heretired from Government service in 2003 as Chairman of Bangladesh Small & Cottage IndustriesCorporation (BSCIC).

He joined Bangladesh Awami League in 2005 and was returned as Member of Parliament (MP) onBangladesh Awami League ticket in 2008. In the 9th parliament he served as Chairman of theParliamentary Standing Committee on Public Accounts. Besides he served as member in theParliamentary Standing Comittee of Ministry of Public Administration, Ministry of Finance and Ministryof Defense. In the later position he represented the Honorable Prime Minister. He was elected to theCentral Executive Committee of Bangladesh Awami League as member in 2010 and 2013.

Mr. Mannan is married; his wife Zolekha Mannan is a teacher in a women’s college in Dhaka. Hisdaughter Sara is a Doctor and lives in the U.S.A with her husband. His son Sadat is a ManagingDirector in the Barclay’s Capital (Bank) in the UK and lives in London.Mr. Mannan is interested inDevelopment literature and spends time working for the welfare of the rural people ofBangladesh.Having returned a second time as Member of Parliament in 2014 he was appointed in thenew Cabinet of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina as State Minister of Finance on 12 January in 2014. InApril same year he was given the concurrent responsibility of State Minister the Ministry of Planning.After the Eleventh Parliament election, he was appointed minister of the Ministry of Planning on 7thJanuary in 2019.